SLASH: the life and times of a guitar hero

Posted: March 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

I remember a scene that took place during my post-surgery recovery like it was yesterday.I had just returned from an exhausting 2-hour therapy session,and I was utterly exhausted,to the degree that I almost crashed on the sofa in the living room.I turned the laptop on and tried to find some good relaxing music.I remembered Guns N’Roses and their classic ballad “November Rain”. I typed the name of the song and let it play,closing my eyes and breathing deeply as its soothing melody was vibrating through my ears and my whole body.As the song played,the only thought in my mind was what the therapist had told me :  “Practice your walking every day and the pain will go away,one step at a time. At a certain point of the song ,right before the beautiful first guitar solo comes in,something,I don’t know what,urged me to stand up straight,staring at the wall in front of me.When the solo came in ,I took a deep breath and walked to the wall completely by myself,without falling.That was my first walk after the surgery,and the joy of having succeeded made me shed joyful tears like a child.Needless to say ,Guns N’Roses became my favourite rock band and Slash (Saul Hudson),the man with the magic guitar ,became my favourite guitarist.

When I found out that Slash had written an autobiography ,I told myself I must read it.The story of the man whose masterful guitar skills motivated me to walk had to be read. I read it recently,and I loved every bit of it.

Slash is brutally honest about everything in his life :his childhood,growing up with an English father and an African-American mother,his kleptomania from his teenage period,his passion for extreme bicycle riding,the early bands he played in (one of which got its name from the incoherent ramblings of a drunken friend of his),and even his alcohol and drug  abuse.Unlike other celebrities,Slash doesn’t try to paint a perfect picture of himself,which is great.He’s no saint and he certainly knows it.The details of rock’n’roll lifestyle are incredibly vivid,the reader feels they’re there with the band during their debaucherous adventures.

Another thing I loved about this book is the fact that,despite the personal differences of opinion between Slash and Axl Rose,the lead singer of Guns N’Roses ,which ultimately led to the implosion of the old line-up,Slash bears Axl no hard feelings,showing respect for his songwriting skills and calling him one of the most honest people he has ever met.

“Slash” is an absolutely insane autobiography,recommended to everyone who has ever wondered what it feels like to live like a rock star.5 stars out of 5 from me ! Great job Slash,and thanks for the beautiful music you created.

Comments
  1. costiserban says:

    5/5 review for a 5/5 book! Good job, bro!

Leave a Reply

