DAY OF WAR- a gritty, cinematic novel of King David’s Mighty Men.

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

King David is without a shadow of a doubt my favorite biblical hero, and that’s because of the complexity of his character. A warrior, a musician, a ruler, a lover, a man of arms constantly trying to make peace with himself. Behind every great warrior king, though, stands a group of people ready to lay down their lives, to suffer, to bleed with him, to follow him to Hell if they must.

Christian author Cliff Graham has penned a novel about David’s Mighty Men, called DAY OF WAR, of which I had the great honor of receiving a copy. I can say without sounding far-fetched, that this is the best historical novel I’ve read dealing with ancient warfare.

The first book in a planned five-book series known as LION OF WAR, DAY OF WAR follows the story of Benaiah, a mercenary in the service of the warlord and future king David.

The book is far from the Sunday school cheery images of King David as a cheerful young man. It is a graphic, intense portrayal of hard men living in hard times. It’s fast-paced, action-packed, and violent. I truly felt what it was like to live and fight in those times.

What stood out in my mind was the way David was characterized. Mr. Graham has captured the essence of this remarkable man, not painting a saintly picture of him like most people tend to do, but seeing him as a living, bleeding human being with all the trials and tribulations that come with it. In David’s words “every day is a day of war”.

Benaiah, the hero of this story is the epitome of a warrior. In the opening chapter, he slays two lions. If that’s not inspiring, I don’t know what is. I’ve heard about people naming their children Benaiah(God has built) after this character, and now, I wish to do so myself.

The entire novel is written in a cinematic way, I could imagine the scenes in my mind as if they were on the silver screen. The series has been optioned for cinema, with the producer of the Spider-Man series being part of the team. This can only mean good things.

If you’re looking for a Biblical novel with guts, DAY OF WAR is the best pick. I give it 10 stars out of 5 for the way it manages to inspire while being thoroughly entertaining. I’m very, very pumped for the movie and the books that follow, and I’m proud to “know the covering”.

 

Leave a Reply

